Sketch the Volume, Design with Function and Emotion.

IMG_0794

We always target a clear construction of body design from the selected initial sketch proposals. It could be interpreted into 3 to 5 different 3D shapes of clay models. It goes with insights, creativity and feeling in a pretty much artistic way. Then choose and developed the better one for next phase from the perspective of car stance, body volume, surface treatment and some parts of engineering criteria.

The design main theme doesn’t only be the character of the shoulder line. If you look at the volume composing of the whole body, 4 exaggerated wheel fenders represent the 4WD and FF technical layout. With a wedged center volume which suggest the cabin capacity and dynamic, agile gesture, seems like a holding pose ready for shooting off.

The volume is the first, lines come out with volumes, volumes suggest the technology of the vehicle.
That’s how we executed the styling design with both emotion and function.

日本車廠相當重視車身造型設計在體量的構成與創新,在初期挑選提案時就十分看重草圖在體量上的表現力。如果你看得見體,你就會知道這車的design main theme 不只是那條打勾的肩線,而是前小後大的翼子板和一個前傾的中央主體並在車身兩側凸出暗示駕駛空間的有機型態構成,呼應著前置四驅的性能配置,並希望呈現靈活動感的起跑姿態。細部的造型在此時初期長什麼樣子不需要太過雕琢,只要大略呈現出品牌產品所需要的造型元素就行,例如車頭V型的水箱罩、迴旋鏢頭燈、隱藏的abc柱等等。體為主,線為輔,線最好暗示著體,體最好暗示著機械性能配置,讓造型還是盡可能依然隨附機能,隱喻機能。

這圖某種程度改變了我的職業生涯,每每看見就會想起跟著當時在NDC的模型師一起苦戰油土的日子,也才知道,畫圖是一回事,掌握模型又是另一回事!好的圖是進入立體模型的基本門檻,也是團隊之間溝通和瞄準的目標,所以設計師得多畫圖。同一張圖,日產的模型師得做出三四個以上不同版本的立體造型,還不包括後來的修改造型,我實在佩服他們的解讀圖面能力、塑型能力和創造力。他們沒有任何抱怨我的經驗不足,沒有任何調侃埋怨說設計師圖亂畫,更不會要求我在這階段畫斷面,因為他們知道,這時候的圖最重要的是體、是結構,是整體的氣氛和感覺。他們從來不怕我碰油土模型,甚至還教我做模型。總是說咱們試試看,不行再改。你覺得怎樣,我覺得可以這樣….。大家朝著目標圖,慢慢探索出漸漸具體的造型。設計一台車,他們的功勞大得太多,但卻從來不站到台前。NDC是個專業又難得的團隊,我到現在都還是這樣認為。

我感覺要提一下這幾位優秀模型師,總是能變出讓我意外造型的Jimmy-san, 耐心、細心,跟我有著一樣的高端時尚品味的旭哥,教我模型最多,眼光獨到的彭彭,你們真屌!

發表迴響

